The need for a local unit of government responsible for water management and water development was recognized when legislation for water conversation districts was first enacted in 1935.  The laws remained virtually unchanged until 1957, when the Legislature enacted a comprehensive reform of water management statutes.  In 1973, the Legislature made the decision that all land in North Dakota should be in a water resource district.  Finally, in 1981, a second comprehensive reform of water management laws was enacted by the Legislature.  The powers and authorities of water resource districts were expanded and several other significant changes were designed to improve the effectiveness of water resource districts.


The Richland County Water Resource District is managed by a Board consisting of five members appointed by the Richland County Commission.  Board Members are appointed to three year terms.


Duties of the Water Resource Board are to do all things reasonably necessary and proper to preserve the benefits to be derived from conservation, control, and regulation of the water resources of North Dakota.  This Board is involved with establishment, construction, reconstruction, and maintenance of legal drains; establishment and management of benefit assessment districts for the legal drains; and maintenance of natural waterways (i.e. Antelope Creek, Wild Rice River, and Sheyenne River).  The Board manages culvert, ditching, and drain tile permits, which are required before work is undertaken.


The Richland County Water Resource District Office is staffed Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.  Richland County Water Resource Board meetings are held Tuesday mornings in the District Office.  Please contact the Office if you wish to meet with the Board.


Richland County Water Resource Board Members       

Gary Friskop, Chairman            701-642-2378                     

Tom Kubela, Vice Chairman      701-642-1590     

Clint Arndt                                  701-640-2574

Arv Burvee                                 701-474-5853

Brandon Ward                            701-640-8204


Office Staff

Tiffany Bladow, Secretary-Treasurer
Richland County Water Resource District
418 2nd Avenue North
Wahpeton, ND 58075

Justin Johnson, Engineering Technician
Richland County Water Resource District
418 2nd Avenue North
Wahpeton, ND 58075


Other Resources

Richland County Water Resource District Legal Drain Map
ND State Water Commission
ND Department of Transportation
US Army Corps of Engineers
Red River Basin Commission Lidar Website
Richland County Interactive Mapping Service

(Note- Call #811 before you dig and call your electric utility company regarding overhead power lines.)




Ditch Mowing Deadline-October 1, 2023

County Road 1 Year-Round Restriction Map

Transportation Permits available online through LoadPass Permits:

State Drain Tile Application 80 Acres or Greater

State Drain Tile Notification Less Than 80 Acres

Recurring Events:

County Commission Meets the 1st and 3rd  Tuesday @ 8am
Water Resource Meets every Tuesday @ 8am

Recent Meeting Minutes

Click here to view all recent and historical Meeting Minutes