Richland County SD Sign

About Us

Richland County is 1,436.7 square miles in land and a population density of 11.4 square mile. With some rolling land in the southwestern portion and along river areas, the geography of Richland County is mostly level. Wahpeton, the largest city in Richland County, is the County Seat and is located in the middle of the county and borders the state of Minnesota. The 13 additional cities located in Richland County are Walcott, Colfax, Christine, & Abercrombie in the north, Dwight, Mooreton, Barney, & Wyndmere in the middle, and Lidgerwood, Hankinson, Mantador, Great Bend and Fairmount in the south.


Visit our Cities websites



Other Websites

Richland County Musuem



Spring Load Restrictions Lifted May 30, 2023

County Road 1 Year-Round Restriction Map

Transportation Permits available online through LoadPass Permits:

State Drain Tile Application 80 Acres or Greater

State Drain Tile Notification Less Than 80 Acres

Recurring Events:

County Commission Meets the 1st and 3rd  Tuesday @ 8am
Water Resource Meets every Tuesday @ 8am

Recent Meeting Minutes

Click here to view all recent and historical Meeting Minutes