This office is responsible for the following:

  • Recording any and all types of documents which affect title to real property in Richland County ND
  • Filing Wills for safekeeping
  • Filing Corner Monument Records
  • Filing Burial Permits
  • Other duties include maintaining no-judicial records, issue marriage license, officiate civil marriage ceremonies.

Our Mission

  • As a land Records office, we are to maintain a permanent record of all documents, which we record.
  • To provide and maintain a permanent database for property records search.
  • To provide quality service and information to our customers.

Contact Information

Jackie Babbitt, County Recorder

Kristin Roggeman, Deputy Recorder

Physical Address:
418 2 Ave N
Wahpeton, ND 58075

Mailing Address:
418 2 Ave N, Dept. 20
Wahpeton, ND 58075

Richland County Recorder’s Office accepts documents for recording electronically (ERecording).

If you are interested in eRecording documents please contact one of the following vendors that partner with us.


Indecomm Global Services

Corporation Service Company

ePN Recording Partners

$65.00 marriage license, fee must be paid at time of application. A fee of $5 must be paid for a certified copy of the marriage license at the same time. This will ensure that a certified copy will be mailed back to you once the license is received back in the office. A certified copy is required for all legal name changes. Fee can be paid by cash, check, or credit card (there is a small convenience fee for credit card)

For the Recorders Office to officiate the marriage the cost is $30. An appointment is required for this office to officiate the wedding.

Applications are accepted 8:30am to 4:30pm weekdays.

In the state of North Dakota there is no waiting period after you apply for the license before the marriage may take place. The license must be used within 60 days and may be used anywhere in North Dakota. If the license is unused, it will be expired, no refunds are available. If the couple still wishes to get married, they will have to purchase a new marriage license.

Do not need to be a North Dakota resident. A license is only good for getting married in North Dakota.

North Dakota Century Code Chapter 14-03 defines the marriage contract and defines the laws regarding the issuance of marriage licenses in the State of North Dakota.

To apply for a marriage license you must:

Be at least 18 years of age (N.D.C.C.14-03-17.1.a)

    • If between the age of 16 and 18, you must have signed parental consent
    • Parents must accompany the applicant and have proof of identity
    • No one under the age of sixteen (16) will be issued a marriage license
  • Have documentary evidence of age:
    • such as driver’s license, passport
  • If either or both parties have been divorced, must have CERTIFIED copy of divorce decree (obtained from Clerk of Court in county where divorce was granted)
    • Certified copy of divorce decree is kept with application.
  • Provide Social Security number on application
  • Provide any surname or middle name changes at time of marriage
    • Applicants may change their surname at time of marriage to:
      • Surname of other spouse
      • Former surname of either spouse
      • A name combining into a single surname all or a segment of the pre-marriage surname or former surname of either spouse
      • A combination name with or without a hyphen, provided that each part of the combination surname is the pre-marriage surname or former surname of either spouse
    • Middle name may also be changed at time of marriage
      • New middle name must consist of pre-marriage surname or former surname of that individual
      • New middle name can be added to current middle name

How do I transfer property?

In most cases, you will need to have a deed drawn up to transfer property.  We advise you to contact a real estate attorney or title company.  We do not have forms available and cannot assist you with the legalities of such documents.  North Dakota is a race to record state.

How do I obtain a copy of my deed?

You may request a copy of your deed either in person, by phone, by mail or e-mail.  It is helpful to have the legal description of your property.  Copy fees are $1/page.  A Certified copy is $5 for the first page, $2 for each additional page.  To fax or e-mail a document is an additional $3 fee.  Payment is required up front. 

You may also subscribe to the NDRIN website.  It is a subscription-based site with most counties in North Dakota.

Recording Fees – Requirements

Helpful Links

Birth or Death Records:  http://ndhealth.gov/vital/

UCC/CNS (Uniform Commercial Code/Central Notice System) (ND Secretary of State): http://sos.nd.gov/central-indexing-ucc